How To Compare Low Cost Car Insurance In Arkansas
If you want to drive a vehicle on any public road in Arkansas then you must buy car insurance. If you don’t, and you’re caught, the penalties are severe and can include the loss of your driving privilege for a considerable length of time.
In fact, Arkansas has a computer program which tracks every single registered vehicle in the state – and if an insurance policy is canceled on any vehicle and not immediately replaced, the state of Arkansas can automatically revoke the vehicle’s registration, making driving that vehicle a major offense.
What this all boils down to is that you must buy car insurance. Which means you need to compare low cost car insurance in Arkansas so that you can find the very best policy for you at a price that you can afford.
Fortunately there are several things you can do to help keep the cost of your insurance affordable.
First is the way you drive your car. If you choose to speed, or you choose to drive while intoxicated or under the influence and you are caught, then you have no one but yourself to blame for the fact that your car insurance rates will have shot through the roof.
By the same token, if you hardly drive your car at all, perhaps just a trip or two to the grocery store, a trip each month to the doctor’s, perhaps a trip to visit a friend, then you may qualify for a Low Mileage Discount. Check with your agent as the details of this discount vary slightly between insurance companies.
Do you drive an older car? Perhaps one with little or no Kelly Blue Book value? If so you are probably wasting your money if you pay for collision or comprehensive insurance since your insurance company will not pay you more than Blue Book value if your car is damaged.
Before you buy a new car check with your agent to see just how much that shiny piece of metal is going to cost you each month. From an insurance standpoint not all cars are created equal; some cost a lot more to insure than others.
Are you under 25 years of age? Then you already know that you’re considered a bad risk and your rates are probably higher than your parent’s rates. If you can, stay in school and maintain at least a 3.0 grade point average. This should qualify you for a 5% to 15% Good Student Discount on your monthly premiums.
Are you an older driver? If you’re at least 55 years old then you may want to talk to your insurance agent about the possibility of taking a special driver’s refresher course. Not all companies offer such a course, but if yours does and you pass, you could save at least 10% on your insurance premium month after month.
How large of a deductible can you afford? Be honest with yourself, because if you have an accident you will have to pay your deductible out of your own pocket before your insurance company will pay anything. The good news is, the more you can afford to pay for repairs – i.e. the higher your deductible – then the less you’ll have to pay each month for your insurance.
Finally it’s time for you to get online and start checking car insurance policies and prices among the various car insurance companies here in Arkansas. Don’t think, however, that you can compare all of the insurance companies on just one site, because you can’t.
If you really want to compare low cost car insurance in Arkansas and make certain that you are getting the best deal possible, then you are going to have to make comparisons on at least 3 different websites.
It’s a lot of work, but the result is that you will keep more money in your pocket each time you make a car insurance payment, and that money just keeps adding up, month after month.